Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Linda Sánchez Calls for Immigrant Heritage Month

June 18, 2015
Press Release

Washington, DC- Congresswoman Linda Sánchez (D-CA), Chairwoman of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus, introduced legislation to recognize June as Immigrant Heritage Month along with 59 original cosponsors. The resolution acknowledges the United States’ rich migrant history and the impact immigrants have had in making the United States a stronger, more resilient country. Full text of H.Res.325 is available here.

“For more than 200 years, our rich diversity has been a tremendous advantage for our country,” said Rep. Linda Sánchez. “Immigrants helped establish this great nation and they continue to help it grow and prosper. Recognizing June as Immigrant Heritage Month honors their influence and the role they continue to play in shaping our history and culture.”

“I thank all my colleagues for joining me to introduce this resolution which celebrates the contributions of past, present and future immigrants,” continued Rep. Linda Sánchez. “This year in particular we’ve seen rhetoric which disparages our country’s immigrants. As we recognize our immigrant heritage, we must rededicate ourselves to fixing our broken immigration system to ensure we keep the promise of America as the land of opportunity for all.”

Full list of original cosponsors:

Reps. Brendan Boyle (D-PA), Tony Cardenas (D-CA), Joaquin Castro (D-TX), Judy Chu (D-CA), David Cicilline (D-RI), Yvette Clark (D-NY), Mike Coffman (R-CO), John Conyers (D-MI), Jim Costa (D-CA), Joe Crowley (D-NY), Carlos Curbelo (R-FL), Susan Davis (D-CA), John Delaney (D-MD), Jeff Denham (R-CA), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), Keith Ellison (D-MN), Renee Ellmers (R-NC), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Elizabeth H. Esty (D-CT), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), John Garamendi (D-CA), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Luis Gutierrez (D-IL), Janice Hahn (D-CA), Richard Hanna (R-NY), Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Mike Honda (D-CA), Henry "Hank" Johnson (D-GA), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Joseph P. Kennedy III (D-MA), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Ted Lieu (D-CA), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM), Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), James McGovern (D-MA), Seth Moulton (D-MA), Patrick Murphy (D-FL), Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Bill Pascrell (D-NJ), Charles Rangel (D-NY), Loretta Sanchez (D-CA), Janice Schakowsky (D-IL), Jose Serrano (D-NY), Jackie Speier (D-CA), Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Mark Takano (D-CA), Mike Thompson (D-CA), Paul Tonko (D-NY), Niki Tsongas (D-MA), David Valadao (R-CA), Juan Vargas (D-CA), Marc Veasey (D-TX), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), John Yarmuth (D-KY)